The healthier our business.. the healthier the owners.

25 Oct

Whew what a day!  It’s been crazy hectic here.  And smack in the middle of all the work, I went to the pumpkin patch with my daughters elementary class today. 🙂  It was a lot of fun.  Got home and had 4 new clients in my inbox 😀 

 I’ve recently run across a strange “fear” from some of the newer businesses in my area.  They are afraid to stand out, afraid to be original or different from the norm.  They are also afraid to grow.  Now part of me does understand that with growth in any business, there’s some level of discomfort until things become normal again.  Growth can mean more costs if you’re not prepared for it.  But why any business would fear it is a little strange to me.  Isn’t that why you got into business to begin with?  To HAVE business? 

About a year ago I helped a small contracting business.  The owner was afraid to grow and decided not to market anymore.  5 years later, he wondered why he was in debt.  I went in and coached, designed some new ads, and we worked slowly to build him a comfortable base.  Then we added slowly, new marketing methods, new ideas… fought every step of the way mind you, but now, 3 years later, he’s no longer in any debt, his business registers a hefty profit AND the owner took his first vacation in 15 years.  He’s getting his marriage back and just plain looks healthier. 

As a business owner, sometimes we tie ourselves to our business.  The healthier our business, the healthier we are in turn.  If our business make a profit, but we’re killing ourselves trying to get all the word done, it’s not worth it.  At least it’s not to me.  Planning.  Planning is so important.  Goals.. so important.  Most small business owners, or first time business owners don’t have any written goals for their business.  Why not?  Why not give yourself a visual?  A plan for how you’re going to grow and still keep your sanity. 

The next time you have a spare few minutes.. write down what your goals are for say the next 6 months, the next year and the next 5 years.  What accomplishments do you want to succeed in?  Now post those babies up where you can see em.. maybe even make yourself a little time line chart.. believe me it can really help motivate. 

For example… you want to get 25 new clients this month.  Maybe that’s a lot, maybe that’s only a little.  So that means, statistically, you’ll need to ask about 100 people for a sale.  75 of that 100 will most likely say no.  So get those No’s out of the way!  I made up a little chart that had 100 no’s on it.  Then everytime i get a no.. i cross if off my list.  I’m that much closer to getting a yes!  It keeps me motivated.. and my sales go through the roof.  Not a bad deal at all if you ask me! 😀  Now I seriously challenge you to try this.. try it for 1 month.. if it doesn’t do anything for you, then you haven’t really wasted any time, but what if, just what if flipping it around, trying to get the no will help you sell better than you’ve ever sold?  What if you get those 25 new clients?  Next month.. instead of getting 100 No’s .. go for 150.. make your goals attainable at first.  Keep yourself motivated.  100 no’s . ..maybe that sounds like a lot, but if you break it down.. that’s approximately 3 people a day.. round up to 4.  4 people.. that’s it!  That’s not so hard!  This method is tried, true and tested.  I used to work as a branch manager at a bank and I had my tellers do this for a few months.  Our sales went through the roof, we became the #1 Branch for Credit card sign ups and kept that record strong longer than any branch ever had.  I hope you all will actually give it a shot.. i’d love to know what results you came up with.

 Well I have a conference call to go sit in.  Talk to y’all later 🙂

J.

www.jwdesigncenter.com

Leave a Reply

