A Legion of Gamers and a world of art…

11 Jan

Ok, I know.. this is a little out of topic for me, but it’s caught my interest and I wanted to blog about it.  Gamers.  The whole gaming industry is huge.  Many designers hope to brave that world and have the opportunity to work on something.  And yea, we get to know the games, but how often do we really get to know the gamers themselves?  I’ve taken on a pro-bono case at work, my first probono case ever let me add 🙂 and it’s been a lot of fun so far.  The site.. http://www.legiongamers.net (still under construction so be careful).  It’s a group of guys and gals who are getting together to build a playground for gamers.  It’s a forum for all games where people are there to help eachother.  They cover new games like Hellgate London to console games and even some of the older games.  They hope to become a team.  A legion.  I’m sure it’s been done before, but the heart and soul that streams from these folks is really evident when you talk with them.  I feel for them too … as starting a forum can be tough!  You have to not only bring in traffic but you also have to get people talking!  It’s only been up for a day and a half (http://www.legiongamers.net/phpBB3/index.php) but the forum already has a bunch of members.  I’m excited for this group of gamers… I hope very much that their site succeeds and that they share that heart and soul with the rest of the world as they grow.  They really made my day.

I’m their designer.  The site is a work in progress… so keep that in mind if you do decide to visit 🙂  I’d love suggestions add on’s and thoughts too!

J.

One Response to “A Legion of Gamers and a world of art…”

  1. inknform February 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    wow, “legiongamers” is a really well built site! Great job btw 🙂 I have been a gamer at heart since the Atari, but unfortunately time doesn`t permit to play many games these days…*sniff*

    In anycase, I`ll be checking in & out of legiongamers.net and hopefully contribute when I can!

Leave a Reply

