Do you have a “sick” plan?

18 Feb

Sick ManWhen you work in a normal job, you have other people who can cover for you should you take a sick day. But when you’re a business owner in a small business, what do you do? Do you have a backup plan in case of emergencies? Perhaps you need a “substitute”?

This week I’ve been thinking about that. I have a few health problems that I’m dealing with and this week I took the time to ask some of my closest and most trust worthy colleagues if they’d be able to pick up a project or two should I ever need it for emergency purposes. I would of course offer to do the same with their businesses if the roles were reversed. They agreed and I have to say, it’s a HUGE weight off my shoulders. One I didn’t even know I had.

It’s bad enough that many small business owners go uninsured, or underinsured but then they push themselves if they DO get sick because they have no alternative or back up plan. We are only human. We need to remember, as business owners, that there will come a time, somewhere down the road that we’ll need to take a break and rest. Otherwise we’ll be in for a lot more trouble later on down the road. I really encourage you to think about what you would/would not be able to do if you needed to take a few days off? If you have a back up plan. I think you’ll feel a lot better in the long run and feel that an unknown weight has been lifted if you do. 🙂

3 Responses to “Do you have a “sick” plan?”

  1. femkreations February 18, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    Thanks. Thats something I never thought about.
    Hope u feel better soon
    Femy

  2. proassets February 24, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    Great post and yes having a back up plan is important.

    I am interested to know what others have done when they don’t have a colleague able to step in and work on a project.
    Ashley

  3. Chad Wright March 26, 2008 at 2:52 pm #

    A really great post I’ve been thinking about too this last week. My whole family’s been sick but I’ve avoided it so far. And it’s a good thing because right now I’m booked from the time I get up to the time I go to bed for the next few months. Literally no time to be sick.

Leave a Reply

