Standing on a cliff… sink or swim time

11 Apr

What a week… there’s been the discussion of a LOT of changes. Our “beloved Christopher” the director of operations for JW is joining the military. And while i won’t get into all those details here, let’s just say this means a lot of change for me and JW. 🙂 It’s all good change tho, and i’m looking forward to once again holding the reins so to speak. I got a nice break and I’m getting myself ramped up to take business to the next plateau. While doing that however, I’m also going to be busting through a new door. I’ve been offered a couple of commission comic jobs for a couple of different fun projects. And my debate ended a couple of days ago when I accepted them. 🙂 I’m not entirely sure how i’ll juggle it all, but i’m looking forward to giving it my all. I suppose one thing that is keeping me from stressing about it is that i’ll finally be able to act the way my title describes. I’m the creative director, and for a long time, i’ve also been the sole designer behind the designs for my firm. We’ve used other designers here and there, where i’ve directed as needed. But I’m looking forward to being able to direct the creativity, and letting someone else create it. LOL. Maybe that makes me sound odd.. i don’t know.

I remember when i first started JW. It felt like I was standing on a cliff and I could either dive in or turn away. And once I got in.. it was sink or swim. Now essentially all business is that way all the time, but the newness behind it was scary and intimidating. That’s how I feel right now with the comic industry. Graphic design, web design, heck business… I’m cool and confident. But this industry is a whole new world for me.

I’m also looking forward to finally having the chance to work on Creative Fusion Pro. My baby project that has grown over the last 3 years into something ENORMOUS. And due to it’s size, it’s been on the back burner long enough. It’s exciting.

Well that’s enough from me, i need to go back to work before I go home.. but to all of you who are in the position where you feel like you’re standing on a cliff… i’ve been there, and i’m looking forward to leaping you should too.

J.
http://www.jwdesigncenter.com

2 Responses to “Standing on a cliff… sink or swim time”

  1. Samantha April 15, 2008 at 9:08 am #

    Well, I have taken quite a close look on your website and I must say that I find it extraordinarily interesting.

  2. Extirpation June 20, 2008 at 6:40 pm #

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Extirpation!!!

Leave a Reply

